Meet STLE’s new Fellows

STLE Fellows are persons of outstanding personal achievement in the field of tribology or lubrication engineering who have 20 years of active practice in the science and/or engineering professions and have been an STLE member for 10 years. They are nominated by the Fellows Committee and approved by the STLE board of directors. Only 187 individuals currently hold the membership grade of Fellow, which recognizes STLE members who have made a significant impact in the field of tribology and/or lubrication engineering.

Meet the newest members of this distinguished group, who were approved by the STLE Board of Directors:

2023 STLE Fellows

Dr. Hong Gao, Shell Global Solutions (US) Inc.
Dr. Ken Hope, Chevron Phillips Chemical Co.
Dr. Peter Lee, Southwest Research Institute
Dr. Shuangbiao (Jordan) Liu, Northwestern University
Dr. Steve Shaffer, Shaffer Tribology Consulting

2022 STLE Fellows

Dr, William Anderson, Afton Chemical Corporation
Dr. Gareth Fish, The Lubrizol Corporation
Hitesh Trivedi, UES Inc.

2021 STLE Fellows

Dr. David Burris, University of Delaware (USA)
Dr. Daniele Dini, Imperial College London (United Kingdom)
Dr. Mathias Woydt, MATRILUB (Germany)

2020 STLE Fellows

Vasilios Bakolas
Principal Expert Bearings R&D,
Schaeffler Technologies AG & Co. KG,
Herzogenaurach, Germany
Seong Kim
Dean’s Fellow Professor of Chemical Engineering,
The Pennsylvania State University
University Park, PA

Ashlie Martini
Professor of Mechanical Engineering,
University of California
Merced, Merced, CA

Fellows candidates 
must meet a standard for outstanding personal achievements through significant contributions in management, education, research or technological areas. These individuals are recognized as an outstanding authority, as shown by patents, books, articles published, or papers presented, or because they have been responsible for significant and widely known improvements in the field. Accomplishments must be beyond those typically expected of a scientist or engineer in the field of tribology and/or lubrication engineering.