Meet your STLE 2021 - 2022 President

Dr. Ken Hope from Chevron Phillips Chemical Elected 2021-2022 STLE President

Dr. Ken Hope from Chevron Phillips Chemical Elected 2021-2022 STLE President Ken Hope, global PAO technical services manager for Chevron Phillips Chemical in The Woodlands, Texas, takes the reins as STLE’s 2021-2022 president, with his one-year term beginning in May.

Hope graduated with a doctorate in physical chemistry from the University of Alabama at Birmingham in 1988.

Hope has 30 years of experience in the lubricant industry. His research interests have been primarily focused in the area of polyalphaolefins and the use of synthetic lubricants. Prior to becoming global PAO technical services manager for Chevron Phillips Chemical, he was a research fellow and team leader for NAO and PAO research and technology responsible for product development, process improvement and technical service for NAO and PAO product lines. For several years he worked in the analytical group at Chevron Corp. doing NMR research on catalysts and structure/property relationships on various materials. Before joining Chevron Corp., he was the director of the NMR research in the chemistry department at the University of Houston. 

Hope is past chair of the STLE Houston Section and participated as a Lubrication School instructor for the STLE Houston, Chicago and Oklahoma Sections. For more than 15 years, he instructed the synthetics module of the Basic Lubrication course at STLE’s annual meeting. He also holds STLE’s Certified Lubrication Specialist™ designation.

A former chair of STLE’s Editorial & Publications Committee, Hope has served on the editorial board of the Journal of Lubrication Science and as a TLT Technical Editor. He also has served as a member of the API Base Oil Interchange/Viscosity Grade Read Across Task Force as well as ASTM and SAE. He has presented more than 70 technical papers at STLE, NLGI, UNITI, ELGI, ACS, AICHE and SAE meetings and holds 21 U.S.

Hope served on the STLE Board of Directors from 2006 to 2017, and in 2018, he became a member of the Executive Committee, serving one-year terms as treasurer, secretary and vice president. Joining him on the Executive Committee are Vice President Dr. Ryan D. Evans (The Timken Co.), Secretary Dr. Hong Liang (Texas A&M University), Treasurer Jack McKenna (Sea-Land Chemical Co.), Immediate Past President Paul Hetherington (HollyFrontier Lubricants & Specialties) and STLE Executive Director Ed Salek.