Home > Resources > Articles & Research > GF Development Timeline
GF Development Timeline

January 01, 2013
Jean Van Rensselar
Tip or Best Practice


1990: ILSAC GF-1
This standard indicates that the oil meets both API SH and the Energy Conserving II (EC-II) requirements. It was created in 1990, upgraded in 1992 and became the minimum requirement for oil used in U.S. and Japanese automobiles.

1996: ILSAC GF-2
This oil must meet both API SJ and EC-II requirements. The GF-2 standards require that 0W-30, 0W-40, 5W-20, 5W-30, 5W-40, 5W-50, 10W-30, 10W-40 and 10W-50 motor oils meet stringent requirements for phosphorus content, low temperature operation, high temperature deposits and foam control.

2001: ILSAC GF-3
This oil must meet both API SL and the EC-II requirements. The GF-3 standard has more stringent parameters regarding long-term effects of the oil on the vehicle emission system, improved fuel economy and improved volatility, deposit control and viscosity performance. The standard also requires less additive degradation and reduced oil consumption rates over the service life of the oil.

2004: ILSAC GF-4
This oil is similar to the API SM service category (for 2010 and older automotive engines) but requires that the Sequence VIB Fuel Economy Test replace the Sequence VIA in order to measure the fuel economy retained during the oil change interval as well as initial fuel economy.

2010: ILSAC GF-5
Introduced in October 2010 for 2011 and older vehicles, it is designed to provide improved high-temperature deposit protection for pistons and turbochargers, more stringent sludge control, improved fuel economy, enhanced emission control system compatibility, seal compatibility and protection for engines operating on ethanol-containing fuels up to E85.

*From: http://www.oilspecifications.org/ilsac.php

©2008 STLE All rights reserved.